We’ve outlined everything on Popeye’s allergen menu that is vegan. Check out our Popeye’s vegan guide to see everything that is vegan at Popeye’s Louisiana Kitchen.
Just because you’re vegan doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be able to enjoy fast food. Sometime’s it’s also necessary if you are out and it’s the only thing near you.
Background: Popeye’s Louisiana Kitchen began in Louisiana in 1972. At the time it was called Chicken on the Run, but renamed to Popeye’s in 1976 after poor performance. Today, there are more than 3,400 locations in more than 30 countries.
It definitely isn’t the first place you think of when you want to find vegan food, and quite honestly there isn’t a lot you can get, but if you find yourself somewhere and this is the only option, then you may be able to grab something to at least not be hungry.
DISCLAIMER ON OUR VEGAN FAST FOOD GUIDE:
This guide is not meant to be considered as medical advice. Make It Dairy Free does not guarantee or take on any liable responsibility for the accuracy of the information below. This Vegan Fast Food Guide is simply a starting point and the reader should use caution when purchasing all foods they consume.
Please consult your doctor or your child’s pediatrician, depending on the severity of the any allergies that you or your loved one has, as it may be advised you take very special precautions.
IT’S IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT IN ANY RESTAURANT, BUT ESPECIALLY IN FAST FOOD RESTAURANTS, THAT CROSS CONTAMINATION MAY HAPPEN WITH OTHER PRODUCTS.
The safest thing to do is to check the ingredient list or allergen pamphlet at the fast food restaurant every time you go. Fast food restaurants are known to add, change, or update products often and updates to our site may not always happen as quickly as they change. We do our best to provide the most accurate information possible.
While we did our absolute best to make sure this information is accurate, based on research, we cannot guarantee correctness.
This information was obtained from the restaurant chain websites, customer service, or other printed data. We have listed the foods that were identified by the respective fast food chains as not containing animal ingredients, and wherever possible, those that have also been noted as high risk for cross-contamination. However, as a third-party reporter, we do not and cannot guarantee their accuracy. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you see information that is not up to date.
This list only covers US based restaurants. Please note that even if you have one of these restaurants in your country, the ingredients may differ.
Lastly, we have not verified sugar sources (for bone char free sugar) and do include items that have palm sugar. If this is a concern for you, we recommend reaching out to the company directly.
Never miss another post! Sign up for our weekly newsletter and get them all delivered easily! Plus, 15 easy recipes delivered immediately!
CLICK HERE TO SIGN UP!
*Popeye’s Disclaimer: Some products are shared in the same fryers as meat products. It doesn’t appear this happens at all locations so check if this bothers you.
Here’s Popeyes’ Vegan Menu:
- Baguette (not at all locations)
- Corn on the Cob (Ask for No Butter)
- Grits (made with water, double check)
- Jalapenos (literally a side of jalapenos)
This is literally it. We didn’t even bother creating a drop list based on category because you can literally read it in 3 seconds. It’s honestly quite sad that in 2021, they aren’t even catering to vegetarians.
What about their vegetable sides?
One of the hard things about Popeye’s is that their ingredient list is NOT posted online. We are using their nutritional and allergen charts to come to these results. Most things list either that they contain dairy or egg OR that there is cholesterol in the ingredients.
Vegan food does not contain cholesterol so it’s an immediate giveaway that something has animal products contained in it. Many only resources point to the fact that many items are cooked or fried with meat products or use lard (animal fat).
- Green Beans – contains milk (and some report meat used to cook)
- Cajun Fries – does not list milk or eggs; however contains cholesterol which likely means cooked in animal fat at some point
- Red Beans & Rice – does not list milk or eggs; however contains cholesterol which likely means cooked in animal fat at some point
- Coleslaw – contains egg
- Onion Rings – contains egg and milk
- Hashbrowns – does not list milk or eggs; however contains cholesterol which likely means cooked in animal fat at some point
There is also some discrepancies on their allergen list that make the restaurant even more questionable for vegans. For example – their cheese tortilla says there is no egg or milk; however, they don’t use plant based cheese, so we are assuming it’s an error.
We will contain to try to get Popeye’s to send us an ingredient list and update if they do.
Thanks for the list! I knew Popeye’s would be zero 😂. I used to eat the beans and rice when I first went vegan until I realized it contained beef or pork. It was tasting too good to be true. Veganism is a journey!
Love your videos, but sometimes the background music you play is either too loud and distracting.
Thanks for the feedback. You shouldn’t have that issue in our newer videos