Take a look at our Vegan Valentine’s Day Candy Guide and get all your answers to what you can and can’t have this Valentine’s Day!
Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching and you may be wondering what delicious treats there are for you (I mean your children) to consume. Our Vegan Valentine’s Day Candy Guide will let you in on the scoop of what is out there.
Unless you’ve been vegan your entire life or for a long part of it, you are likely here wondering if you can still have your favorite or even any Valentine’s Day candy.
Now, I won’t sugarcoat anything.
There are going to be many traditional Valentine’s candies that are not allergen-friendly.
Especially the chocolate.
However, the good news is there are actually dozens of dairy free candy options for Valentine’s.
Never miss another recipe! Get our recipes straight to your inbox when you sign up for our weekly newsletter today! Our Top 15 posts automatically sent to you! Plus, enjoy behind the scenes, giveaways, and other exclusive content!
Sign up for our newsletter HERE!!
What about vegan sugar?
Many do not know but often times cane sugar in processed through animal bone char. This means that remnants of animal bones are left behind in the sugar that we consume.
While many companies are moving away from this manufacturing process, unless a product is certified vegan or organic, then it is highly likely the the contents contain sugar processed through bone char.
Depending on the level of veganism you are at, you may or may not be okay with this.
On one hand, we know some vegans that say absolutely not and on the other hand we know vegans that say that the trace amounts are not something that they are worried about.
We have not verified with each company at this time about who does or does not process their candy through bone char, so if this is a concern for you, then we highly recommend that you reach out to the manufacturer yourself.
We know that some vegans are against the use of palm oil due to the destruction of orangutan habitats.
Some of the products below do contain palm oil, but we have included them in the list because palm oil itself is considered vegan.
If palm oil is a concern to you, check the ingredients before purchasing.
Dairy and Egg Allergies
If you have a dairy or egg allergy, vegan candies are perfect because they natural do not contain these ingredients.
Please always double check the packages for cross contamination warnings depending on the severity of your allergen.
Are you following us on social media? Be the first to see what we’re doing and finding, behind the scenes, and other get recipes are resources we’ve finding by following along.
FACEBOOK INSTAGRAM PINTEREST TWITTER YOUTUBE
Vegan Valentine’s Day Candy Guide
In this post, we list all dairy free candy in alphabetical order. We also note whether the item is gluten-free if we have that information.*
VEGAN CANDY A-F
- Airheads (also gluten free)
- Annie’s Organic Gummies
- Atomic Fireballs
- Big League Chew
- Blow Pops (also gluten free) *Note: Do not confuse with Tootsie Roll pops as these are not dairy free
- Bottlecaps (also gluten free)
- Brach’s Jube Jel Cherry Hearts
- Cry Baby
- Dots (also gluten free)
- Dums Dums – (also gluten free)
- Enjoy Life Boom Choco Booms Bars
- Fun Dip (also gluten free)
VEGAN CANDY G-L
- Gobstoppers (also gluten free)
- Hubba Bubba (also gluten free)
- Jolly Ranchers
- Jujubes (also gluten free)
- Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Laffy Taffy (also gluten free)
VEGAN CANDY M-R
- Now and Laters (also gluten free)
- No Whey Chocolates
- Oh Nut’s Heart Shaped Lollipops
- Peanut Chews (Only Dark chocolate variety – also vegan)
- Pez Candy
- Pixy Stix (also gluten free)
- Red Vines
- Ring Pops (the gummie ring pops are not vegan)
- Rock Candy
VEGAN CANDY S-Z
- Saf-t- pops (also gluten free)
- Skittles (also gluten free)
- Smarties — Any variety – (Top 8 Allergen Free) *** It’s also important to know that if you look for UPCs with 011206 it confirms products came from allergen-free factory
- Sour Patch Kids (also gluten free)
- Swedish Fish (Also Gluten free but double check labels as some may contain beeswax depending on manufacturer)
- Sweet Tarts (also gluten free)
- Theo Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Trader Joe’s Sunbutter Cups
- Twizzlers – Including Twists, Sweet & Sour Filled Twists, Pull n’ Peels, Bites, and Nibs
- Yum Earth – Specifically Lollipops, Fruit Snacks, Licorice, Sour Candy, and Hard Candy and Jellybeans – Also gluten free and dye free (gummy bears, worms and candy corn not vegan)
Share a photo of our recipe you made! Tag us @makeitdairyfree and use #MakeItDairyFree on Social so we can feature you!
*Vegan Valentine’s Candy Guide Disclaimer:
The information included on this page is for informational purposes only and should never be considered as medical advice, opinion, or any other health-related information.
You should always consult a medical provider for questions or answers regarding the health of yourself and others.
Please note at the time of posting, this vegan candy list was accurate. This list cannot guarantee that manufacturers have not changed manufactures, facilities, or ingredients.
Always double check labels!
If you have questions, our best suggestion is to call the manufacturer and ask. Especially in the case where a severe food allergy is present, contact them for allergen cross-contamination information.
DID WE MISS A DAIRY FREE CANDY FOR VALENTINE’S THAT IS YOUR GO TO EVERY YEAR? LET US KNOW IN THE COMMENTS BELOW SO WE CAN ADD IT TO OUR LIST!
We hope that your favorite Valentine candy is on our list of dairy free candy for Valentine’s. If it’s not, then we hope that you can find something that still brings you joy!